This week I found myself with a couple of unexpected days off due to a family emergency (yes, another one), so in the midst of a lot of hurry up and wait moments, I worked on my novel. It is times like these that I’m grateful to have an imaginary world where I can escape a sometimes difficult reality. On the family front, all is well which gives me an even bigger reason to be thankful.

Word Count Progress:

Draft #1 Word Count:

  • Start Word Count: 43,814
  • End Word Count: 48,749
  • Total: 4,935

Draft #2 Revised Word Count:

  • Start Word Count: 44,980
  • End Word Count: 50,025
  • Total: 5,045

Writing Process Notes:

  • This week was a big reminder that writing can happen even in the strangest of places as long as my muse is switched on. In addition, when I am stressed out or worried, writing is an outlet that preserves my sanity. I need my imagination about as much as I need air.
  • Part of the reason I amassed such a large word count this week had to do with the fact that I’m working on a section that doesn’t need a lot of revisions. I’m happy with it as it is, so I’m simply transferring the segment into the new draft. My first novel taught me that I don’t have to revise every single word. The need to revise everything is a trap a lot of writers fall into, but it’s important to know the difference between what needs to be re-worked and what can be left alone.

Novel Tidbit:

Chapter Breaks:

  • One of my favorite things about Novel #2 is how each chapter ends. After reading more than my fair share of YA novels, one of the things I noticed was how every chapter ended with a bit of a cliffhanger. It wasn’t always a major plot point, but it was enough to make the reader wish they could stay up a little bit later to keep reading!
  • I worked really hard at making sure the majority of my chapters end with sentences that will make the reader beg for more. Here’s a small sampling of sentences that sit at the end of chapters in Novel #2:
    • The porch is empty and I am by myself. I think I imagined the whole thing.
    • I walk him to the front door and sure enough the deadbolt is securely locked.
    • Before I can say another word or attempt to stop him, Ian is gone.
    • “I’m not. I just want to know what you are.”
    • “Then stay,” I say, shocked at my boldness.

- – -

c.b.w. 2013

