A to Z Abroad: Les Invalides

Standard

My habit of wandering off from the tour group has taken me to some pretty interesting places over the years, but one of my favorite wanderings brought me in direct contact with a favorite historical figure – Napoleon Bonaparte.

Not far from the Eiffel Tower, is the lesser known site Les Invalides or L’Hôtel national des Invalides. The golden steeple of the dome shimmers in the sun like a beacon to every history geek and architecture nerd within a 50-mile radius.

Les Invalides was built in the 17th century at the behest of Louis XIV. Naturally, all the opulence of his era is encrusted in every facet of the building, from its decorative gardens to the crowning jewel of a dome in the adjoining chapel. For any fan of Late Baroque architecture, Les Invalides is an absolute marvel.

Les Invalides, Paris
Photo by: c.b.w. 2003

First commissioned as a home and hospital for aged and unwell soldiers, Les Invalides remains a haven for war veterans in the same tradition today. However, the complex has expanded to include museums and monuments relating to the military history of France. In addition, Les Invalides serves as a burial site for France’s war heroes.

I wandered through the galleries that hold weapons and uniforms spanning several centuries. I’ve never been one for military history, but when I walked into a room dedicated to artifacts from Napoleonic France, I started to drool, (I have a slight obsession with this era in history that I can’t explain). Honestly, only a history teacher can get away with salivating over Napoleon’s clothing and other personal effects. And I just about died at the sight of a dress worn by his wife Josephine.

Imagine my excitement when I walked into the chapel and realized I was in the presence of Napoleon’s tomb! Beneath the gold encrusted and beautifully painted dome, lies a red quartzite sarcophagus elevated on a slab of green granite.

The dome of Les Invalides
Photo by: c.b.w. 2003

Napoleon’s Tomb (not the best shot, but it’s all I’ve got!)
Photo by: c.b.w. 2003

Hero or villain, the jury is still out for historians, but to visit the tomb of a man who literally changed the political landscape of Europe made for an incredible adventure in Paris.

– – –

Part of the A to Z Challenge!

A2Z-2013-BADGE-001Small_zps669396f9

– – –

c.b.w. 2013

25 thoughts on “A to Z Abroad: Les Invalides

  1. Oooh, what luck to have found your site.

    I don’t like Parisians in any form or manner but the museums and museums and museums – mmmm, those I love…

    Thank you for the pictorial trip down memory lane, I’m following you so I don’t miss one…

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by! I hope you enjoy the rest of the posts in this series. 🙂

      I’ve heard of people having bad experiences with Parisians, but I was lucky that the people I interacted with were nothing but warm and friendly.

      I have some interesting things planned for next week, so stay tuned! 🙂

      Like

    • I love the shot of the dome. I took that with a disposable camera and I’m still in shock with how well it turned out. 🙂

      One day, you’ll simply have to back and check out Les Invalides from the inside!

      Like

  2. Been to Paris a couple of times but didn’t make it here. For such a significant place as to have Napoleon’s tomb, it’s quite funny it’s not included in the main tourist trails. I agree, the ceiling is great!

    Like

  3. Fascinating place! It reminds me a bit of our Legislature building. The architect was a mason and drew on many inspiring themes and old architectural styles. It’s interesting to see your photos and realizing he may have used Les Invalides as his inspiration for a local monument. 🙂

    Seeing Napoleon’s tomb in person must have given you goosebumps! I know it would have given them to me! I’ll have to remember this place if I ever have the opportunity of touring France. 🙂

    Like

    • Much of the architecture from the Late Baroque period did serve as inspiration for government buildings across Europe and the U.S. 🙂

      There are barely words to describe the feeling of seeing Napoleon’s tomb. The history geek in me was totally overwhelmed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

