Favorite Thing Friday: Coffee Journal

Standard

41SZNKG44CL._SY300_

My aunt has a knack for giving interesting and unique gifts. A few years back she sent me a cool little book called the Coffee Shop Companion.

This perfect gift hit two of my loves with one shot. First, I love journals of all shapes and sizes. Second, I am basically obsessed with fancy coffee. In particular, I love a good Cafe Mocha (it’s my muse juice, after all!).

Whenever I travel, I make it a point to find coffee shops so I can try different varieties of my favorite drink. It’s interesting to explore the local flavor or interpretation of a Cafe Mocha because each place leaves a distinctive mark on the drink.

Throughout my travels, I dutifully made notations in my journals about all the Cafe Mochas I drank. For example, I maintain the best Cafe Mocha to be had in Europe is in Killarney, Ireland courtesy of the Lir Cafe. It’s been five years and I still haven’t found a better cup of coffee. As much as I love Starbucks’ version of the mocha, this place takes the top spot!

Clearly, I enjoy a Cafe Mocha more than most! Hence, the perfection of a journal dedicated to nothing but recording every delicious cup of coffee. Not only are there blank pages to record details, but the journal is peppered with coffee quotations and factoids.

  • Coffee is the second most traded commodity in the world, following only petroleum, and it is the most consumed beverage in the world besides water.
  • As soon as coffee is in your stomach, there is a general commotion. Ideas begin to move . . . similes arise, the paper is covered. Coffee is your ally, and writing ceases to be a struggle. – Honoré de Balzac

On my recent trip to Northern Wisconsin, I was delighted to discover that most small towns in the region have finally jumped onto the coffee cafe bandwagon. In the week I was there, I visited five different coffee shops and ordered my coveted Cafe Mocha. Some were positively divine, while others made my face scrunch up like a sour patch kid. All experiences were recorded in my coffee companion:

100_3606

I swear I never drink more than one cup a day!

100_3607

Notes of a very picky coffee drinker!

Memories of a Cafe Mocha at Horhay’s Java Saloon still linger on the palette. Mmmmm . . . .

– – –

What is your favorite thing this week?

– – –

c.b.w. 2013

30 thoughts on “Favorite Thing Friday: Coffee Journal

  1. Honoré de Balzac couldn’t be more right! That is such a fun journal and great way of remembering the amazing places you visit! : )

    My favorite thing this week was sitting on the beach with my mom and brother. Nothing like a good book, the roar of the waves, and the cool breeze off of the ocean.

    Like

  2. Such a perfect gift for you! My favorite thing this week is/are lightning bugs. Last summer’s drought seriously decreased the listening bug sightings. But so far this very wet summer they are twinkling all over my neighborhood. Reminds me of being a kid and getting to stay outside after dark since school was out, and catching them in a jar with my cousins. (We did always let them go before we went inside for the night.)

    Like

  3. Sherrey Meyer

    Oh, you make a cafe mocha sound so good right now. My muse hasn’t arrived; perhaps I should rush up the street to Starbuck’s and use my gift card to get one! Love your coffee journal and your recent coffee experiences in WI.

    My favorite thing this week was Carmen. Yes, we had the opportunity to attend one of The Met’s theater productions, i.e. in a movie theater. It was even better than being at the performance live because of the behind the scenes activity we witnessed — scenery changes, costume changes, interviews, etc.

    Like

  4. What an interesting journal! I’d never heard of one to record coffee experiences. Very unique, especially if one loves to explore the various taste sensations. My favorite has to have a splash of hazelnut and, occasionally, English Toffee can tempt me. I also like the Mocha, but never noticed that different places have their own flavors. I guess I just haven’t traveled enough! lol

    Like

  5. As a coffee addict I can say that no one does coffee like the Italians. But you don’t get the variation over there. If you ask for a coffee you will get an espresso, but if you ask for a cafe latte you will get a coffee with milk. If you make the mistake of just asking for a latte, you will get a nice cup of warm milk, as my father-in-law found out! The Italians don’t take the time to sit and sip their coffee, it’s all about a quick fix – down it, smoke a cigarette and continue with the day (I’m not pigeonholing them all but it’s very common over there – honest). What I found though is that drinking little and often is definitely better for me than having a medium Americano or Latte from Costa Coffee. I think the large volume of coffee in one hit is too much for me and often makes me feel sick and headachy. I’m going for the Italian way from now on.

    Like

  6. Personally I go for americano with cold milk, or a noisette – Espresso with a dash of milk. I love the journalidea, great way to remember travel, we always look for cofee shops first.

    Jim

    Like

  7. I tend to journal the people I meet when I am traveling or sometimes even interesting local drinks but hadn’t really ever considered coffee … lol. You made me look at the whole coffee drinking in foreign cafe’s in a whole different way 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

