Favorite Thing Friday: Straight Needle Socks

Standard

Let’s get the knitter confession out of the way: I hate knitting on double-pointed needles. They are pokey and I never know where to put my fingers to work the stitches! I deal with them to make hats, but I’ve never been able to get past my double-pointed needle issues to make socks. Hence, my obsession with the sock loom.

I love my sock loom (and everybody knows it), but there is a severe shortage of sock loom patterns available. Furthermore, it’s tough to translate a sock pattern from one loom to another, (try as I may, it never works out quite right).  For a while now, I’ve been looking for a solution for both the double-pointed needle aversion and sock loom pattern deficiency.

Lo and behold, I found the answer at my favorite bookstore. While perusing the knitting books, I came across Knit Your Socks On Straight by Alice Curtis. This is my new favorite thing!!

Curtis has come up with an ingenious method of knitting socks on only two needles. The trick lies in creating a flat seam along the side of the sock using a simple crochet stitch that mimics a three-needle bind off. Putting the seam on the side means no uncomfortable bump on the top or bottom of the foot!

Fate was truly on my side as the first pattern in the book called for yarn I already had sitting in my yarn basket (2 partially used skeins, no less!). With stars aligning like that,  I put my Christmas gift knitting aside to learn how to knit these socks! Curtis gives fantastic instructions that are clearly enumerated and easy to understand. Better still, visuals accompany each set of instructions so it’s impossible to get lost.

Within a few hours, I had the leg knit and the heel turned:

100_3986

My first turned heel on needles!

The only major challenge for me was reversing the flat seam instructions from righty to lefty. While I managed to successfully create the seam, my process needs a little refinement. The stitch isn’t as flat as I’d like. I think I pulled it too tight.

Two days after picking up the book, I had a beautiful pair of straight needle socks. And just in time for the first “chilly” day of fall, (chilly in Arizona means it dropped below 60°).

100_3992

My first pair of straight needle socks.

After I get done knitting Christmas gifts, I’ll be jumping right back into this book. There are some gorgeous socks patterns I can’t wait to try!

– – –

What’s your favorite thing this week?

– – –

c.b.w. 2013

16 thoughts on “Favorite Thing Friday: Straight Needle Socks

  1. Great job! I’m going to have to try this as I’ve been knitting for years but haven’t evolved beyond blankets and scarves. Blankets take forever. Socks have that instant gratification factor and they look good.

    Like

  2. Glad you’ve found instructions that work for you! I remember my mom had a set of needles with a plastic tube attached to the end of each straight needle that she used for knitting tubes. I don’t know if she ever used it for her slipper socks, or not. Have you ever tried this method?

    Like

  3. Get thee to the internet and look up Magic Loop. It looks complicated but it is worth the time to learn it, and it’s way easier to do it than it is to explain it. You shall fearlessly knit tubular socks (not to mention hats, sweater sleeves, etc.) and never pick up a double-pointed needle again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

