Favorite Thing Friday: Celestial Socks

Standard

I admit I’m in a bit of a knitting fit. With Christmas just around the corner, I’m in a mad knitting dash to finish making all the things on my gift list! Most of the time I have two projects going at once – one for when I’m downstairs and one for when I’m upstairs.

While in the middle of learning straight needle socks, I had my sock loom loaded with a project as well.  A friend of mine did not receive socks last year and I wanted to make sure she got some for the holidays this year. She’s always giving compliments on my socks, so it’s about time she got a pair of her own!

After doing a little research on the sly, I found out her favorite color is purple.  Finding a purple yarn that is both pretty and not boring is tough task, but I think I nailed this one.  I found a beautiful variegated purple and teal colorway called Celestial from Paton’s Kroy Socks FX.  It’s all different shades of purple with a slight touch of blue. Gorgeous!

100_3978

Easily one of my favorite brands of sock yarn!

The slight self-striping and subtle color changes made this an ideal choice for a great pattern called the interrupted rib, (courtesy of Leisure Arts Sock Loom Basics). A while back, I made a pair of interrupted rib socks for myself and I love them!  My only complaint is that the pattern calls for the interrupted rib to appear on the leg only.

To make these socks a little more special, I decided to change the pattern by extending the interrupted rib across the top of the foot. All it took was a slight modification at the heel turn and remembering to knit the bottom of the foot with a knit stitch while knitting the top of the foot with the interrupted rib. Voila!

100_4004

Aren’t they pretty!?

Between now and December 25th I have four more gifts to knit! Ahhhh! I better get knitting!

– – –

What’s your favorite thing this week?

– – –

c.b.w. 2013

14 thoughts on “Favorite Thing Friday: Celestial Socks

  1. Gorgeous!!! I’ve not found that color of Kroy yet – a search is in order. I like the pattern extended onto the top of the foot. I am working on an interrupted rib pair of socks on needles. I am still searching for a heel as neat as the one we make on the sock loom. Have you found a needle-worked heel you like?
    My fave on Friday was being at the ocean. Nothing better!

    Like

Leave a Reply

