Favorite Thing Friday: Coffee Rescue

Standard

A few weeks ago, I got the shock of my life when I went to the grocery store and my coffee wasn’t there. I think my heart stopped beating for a few minutes as my entire world fell apart at my feet. How was I going to start my day? With French Vanilla? No! With regular coffee? Are you kidding me? It’s Hill’s Brother’s Double Mocha Cappuccino or nothing!

Screen Shot 2013-11-21 at 6.26.39 PM

Best. Stuff. Ever.

For non-coffee drinkers, this probably sounds insane. The rest of you know what I’m talking about. There should be a rule that manufacturers and/or stores have to give us a heads up when coffee distribution changes, so we don’t go into cardiac arrest.

I searched multiple stores to no avail. Every store had the French Vanilla flavor (which I hate), but not the Double Mocha. Then, I took my quest online where I did find limited success.  Hill’s Brothers wanted $21.00 for a case of six, which wasn’t bad until they wanted to charge me $20.00 for shipping. What?!

After recovering from sticker shock, I set upon the long journey of finding a new coffee brand. This is no easy feat for someone who prefers lattes over simple coffee brews. I went through about five different brands and countless mix concoctions, but I never found the perfect recipe. Though, I did get close with Maxwell House International Cafe. By combining the flavors of Suisse Mocha and Original Cappuccino, I got a strong enough taste, but I never achieved the correct “body.” I know, I’m starting to sound crazy, again.

This went on for two weeks. Every morning began with hope, but ended with a scrunched up “yuck” face. Something had to give. The only option left was to go to the website that has everything – Amazon. Normally, I’m not a fan of ordering food of any kind from amazon (it’s not a grocery store!), but desperate times call for desperate measures.

The stars aligned and I found exactly what I was looking for and it was eligible for free shipping! A week later, I had six beautiful containers of Double Mocha Cappuccino mix. My mornings have been fantastic ever since.

Thank you, Amazon. 🙂

p.s. Some might ask why I didn’t just go to Starbucks and order my favorite drink ever, a Tall Cafe Mocha. Uhh, that gets expensive when I add five extra cups of coffee to the four a week I already buy (for writing sessions). Besides that, I like something a little lighter in the morning.

– – –

What’s your favorite thing this week?

– – –

c.b.w. 2013

21 thoughts on “Favorite Thing Friday: Coffee Rescue

  1. I am a HUGE fan of a Georgia Pecan coffee I can only get one time a year at a local grocer. They only bring it in around the holidays and my mouth waters for it every year. I happened to drop into the grocers a few days ago to see if they had it and I got a pleasant surprise. Not only was it in stock, but it was 50% off! Needless to say I stocked up on my fave coffee ever so I have plenty to last me through Thanksgiving and into December. I will have to go back and get another pound to get me through the end of the year, for which I’ll gladly pay the $16 pound. I know. I’m nuts, but it’s only once a year. 🙂

    Like

  2. Change is a great motivator to explore alternatives. Even when we return to the tried and true, we appreciate it more. $ changes in my life motivated me to brew my own cappuccino in those on the stove-top Italian. The process became a morning ritual and it tasted divine. I got to meditate while it brewed. 🙂

    Like

  3. I love cappuccino. I’ll have to look for this brand. I have tried the Swiss Mocha and like that, too. My local favorite is WAWA Pumpkin Spice (now) and Winter Spice (later) coffee, hot from the machine. Delish. (WAWA is our local favorite, mostly east coast, gas and convenience store.)

    Like

    • Mmmm . . .those sound like some tasty flavors! I like the Hill Bros instant cappuccino because it has weight in the body. It’s thicker than normal coffee and behaves more like a latte (as a cappuccino should). I’ve discovered this weight is a rare feat in the instant coffee realm! 😉

      Like

  4. Favourite thing:
    So far, seeing the first four episodes of ‘Doctor Who’ from 1963 for the first time in 60 years, and recognising several supporting actors.
    To come, the 50th anniversary special tonight.

    Like

  5. Coffee is very important! I have only certain kinds I buy for my Keurig (and I do get Starbucks now and then if I am out and about). I have ordered coffee from Amazon before, and their free shipping is the best thing ever. Glad you found some! 🙂

    Like

  6. Glad you found your perfect brew! I know it’s tough when you expect your morning to begin with a certain flavor and it’s unavailable. I hate it when Hubby takes the last cup and doesn’t have time before work to brew another pot. I don’t feel up to making a fresh pot just for me (we don’t have one of those newfangled one-cup machines!), so end up having tea or something else instead, but it’s just not the same! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

