30 Haikus in 30 Days: 11-14

Standard

The 2014 November PAD Chapbook Challenge continues, as does my personal challenge of writing 30 Haikus in 30 Days.

My haiku muse has been on fire over the last few days. For most prompts, I’m writing more than one poem, which is not at all what I expected when I decided to take on both challenges. Here’s a selection of what I’ve written …

November 11, 2014
Prompt: Two for Tuesday – 1. Write a timely poem. 2. Write a timeless poem.

I. Timely

Light winter flurries,
settle on summer’s last bloom
Pink withers away

II. Timeless

First witness to time
grains of sand; a velvet sky
The stars do not lie

– – –

November 12, 2014
Prompt: Write a poem for and/or about something that cannot be seen.

Before a storm roars
water stills like polished stone
Silence takes a breath

– – –

November 13, 2014
Prompt: Optional

Flying through wild skies
riptide gales, wings hold steady
Grace is optional

– – –

November 14, 2014
Prompt: Follow

Shadows will follow
the sun’s trek across the sky
Lithe calligraphy

– – –

c.b.w. 2014

8 thoughts on “30 Haikus in 30 Days: 11-14

  1. This is a great way to post these in groupings…I love them all and the one that still catches me is day 12 – the one about the storm, stone and silence…beautiful writing, cb!

    I’ve been leaving you comments btw when I check back in time to but then I don’t check back again after that…just wanted you to know just in case you’re missing them though.

    It’d be great if that site were like WP and that we’d get notifications when we receive comments on our posts – I’m so spoiled! 😉

    Like

    • Day 12 is one of those poems that came so quickly, I had to write it on a receipt from Target. 😉 It’s among my favorite, too.

      I’m catching most of your comments (I went back further and was delighted to see you there!) and I so appreciate your kind words. Thank you for taking the time to leave them.

      I hope your seeing comments I leave for you as well. Your tankas are just phenomenal and I look forward to reading them every day.

      I know what you mean – I wish we’d get some kind of heads up that someone commented or replied!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Wow, I love it when poems just erupt from the poet-soul-space like that! It translated…I could feel the power in that one…and in many, I’ve been enjoying so much your nature perspective and creative use of words to bring the most forth from each haiku – it ‘s a magical thing when brevity brings forth the muse.

        I have been getting many (probably all) of your comments and it’s such an uplifting feeling…your kind words are such a support right now, thank you, cb! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

