So It Begins …

Standard

It’s November and that means it’s time for the 2015 November Poem A Day Chapbook Challenge (Poetic Asides via Writer’s Digest). Once again, I’ve decided to jump in and take on the challenge. I love this challenge not only because of the wonderful community on Writer’s Digest, but also because the competition is a wonderful opportunity. At the end of the challenge, participants put together a chapbook of their best entries and the winning chapbook is published!

Last year I challenged myself to 30 haiku in 30 days. I accomplished this goal by writing well over 30 traditional haiku. As my practice in the haiku form has evolved, this year I’ll be writing contemporary haiku for each prompt in the challenge.

As I work my way through the challenge, I’ll be posting my daily entries here as I write them (instead of in “clumps” like I have in the past). Hopefully, a month of daily poetry will be a welcome change of pace!

So it begins …

November 1, 2015
Prompt: the day after

I.
an empty chair
at the dinner table
leafless trees

II.
cold autumn rain
overnight freeze
snow covered field

III.
tired of crying
the morning sun
dries my tears

IV.
trembling hands
hold a coffee cup
the day after

– – –

Are you participating in the PAD Challenge? Share your links or your poems in the comments. 🙂

– – –

c.b.w. 2015

15 thoughts on “So It Begins …

  1. I did not know about this PAD thing with a chapbook. I want to do it, but I do not have time! I have this idea of a month of sonnets. I might give it a go just to see, but best of luck. And I love your first haikus. Marvelous.

    Like

      • I’m trying, though I just found out I don’t seem to know what Iambic pentameter is as much as I thought. I can’t seem to figure out stressed versus unstressed. Sigh. But I’m excited to try it. I never thought I would want to write sonnets. 😛

        I always like checking out your haikus. I love that they are small, portable poems. This is an exciting month, I think.

        Like

      • I totally agree, and thank you. I spent some time on Youtube trying to figure it all out, and it helped some. I think I need to just learn the rhythm. I was reading a book on poetry forms and it said, Poem comes first, form later. SO basically, write the poetry and work on the form afterwords. I think I might take that advice. I had fun with a poem I did on the show Once Upon A time. I posted it today. 😛

        Like

      • Iambic pentameter is based on normal rhythms of speech. Imagine a mother, angry at her son because he’s fixing a motorcycle engine on her kitchen table:

        “I’ve told you time and time and time again –
        I will not have that bloody thing in here!”

        Like

  2. Pingback: Kate's Bookshelf
  3. Thanks for posting about this, I am exploring poetry for the first time since I was at primary school. My soul seems to have a lot to say and is angry with a lot of things! I will have a look at this challenge site, not aiming for any number per day or week but prompts to take me in a lighter direction would be good.

    As soon as I started exploring poetry I thought of you, thanks for following my blog and posting comments to me now and then so I can read your stuff too. Sorry not to have commented for ages, I haven’t signed in to the blog for ages.

    Just found THE most glorious leather journals on Ebay and have one coming for Christmas, this will be my creative space. Nice pens and nice journals really do make for better days.

    My your soul sing kind words to your pages, thank you for your inspiration.

    Billie x

    Like

    • It’s so nice to see you in blogosphere again! 🙂 Poetry is so cathartic – last year was a rough one for me and I credit haiku for helping me find my center once again. I hope you’ll find the same comfort.

      Oooo, I may have to check out those journals. 🙂

      Like

      • Hiya, thank YOU for your inspiration, as soon as I started back to creative writting and poetry your blog was the first place I went. I’ve tweeted you a link to the nice journals. I might be posting the poetry to the other blog I started
        https://aspacetoheal.wordpress.com/
        but I’m here somewhere.

        Not starting a new Twitter account for that, lifes complicated enough, so will tweet under Billies Craft room for both sites.

        I hope this year has been kinder to you. Thanks for your encouragement and inspiration.

        Like

      • Thanks for the links – I don’t visit my twitter feed nearly enough so I’ll have to check in! 🙂

        I followed your new blog and I’m looking forward to reading your poetry! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

