November Challenges: Week #2

Standard

It’s been another productive week for NaNoWriMo and the November PAD Chapbook Challenge. I’ve managed to stay on track, despite a few interruptions in the writing schedule.

NaNoWriMo

Early Bird Word Count: 1,611

Last Week’s Word Count: 3,262

This Week’s Word Count: 4,567

Total: 9,440

Like any overly organized writer, I’m keeping a spreadsheet of daily and weekly word counts to ensure I don’t stray too far away from the overall goal.

Both this week and last week, I had two days where absolutely no writing took place. On Tuesdays and Thursdays I run an after school program, which turns my usual 10 hour workday into a 12 hour workday. It turns out those two extra hours make a huge difference. However, I’m usually full of energy on Mondays and Wednesdays. Most of my writing takes place on those two days.

The surprises continue to come during the process:

I’m still a pantser!

I thought by now I would have pulled out my meticulously organized notes for Lineage. Nope. I’m on Chapter 3 and I’m still pantsing it, while my notebook sits on my desk unopened. The second I sit down at the keyboard my characters start talking. I just listen in on their conversation and start writing.

Writing a sequel is really different from writing the series opener.

While I’m not looking at my notebook, I am looking at the manuscript for The Muse. I find I’m having to reference main story points and details from the original to ensure there are connections between the original and the sequel. Readers need reminder cues and it’s tricky to work them into the continuing story without feeling forced.

The plot twists keep coming.

The general storyline has been worked out in my head for quite some time, but it appears my characters have different ideas. Apparently, one of them has a huge secret, (and I’m not entirely sure what it is yet.) A secondary character has a connection to another character that I didn’t see coming and it’s significant.

However, one of the secondary storylines has completely changed. The original plan isn’t lining up to what my characters are telling me, so its scrapped for the time being and something different has taken its place.

Sometimes I just have to let my characters and my muse overrule the original plan.

November PAD Chapbook Challenge

I remain on track with writing one poem a day. It turns out writing a haiku before jumping into NaNoWriMo is a great warm-up. It gets my muse warmed up and ready to roll!

All my PAD Challenge poems can be found on my haiku blog, Haiku Tree.

– – –

How are your November writing projects going?

– – –

c.b.w. 2016

 

4 thoughts on “November Challenges: Week #2

  1. Another awesome writing report. I have two articles out this month and started on the book combining some of the articles from the past ten years. That sounds like it would be easy, but they all need to be updated and expanded. More research. My muse seems to be doing some freestyle spinning. Have a great week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

