Favorite Thing Friday: International Chocolate Day

Standard

In honor of International Chocolate Day, it’s only fitting to show some love for chocolate. I consider chocolate a food group as my muse cannot function without the nourishment of milky chocolate decadence.  There’s a stash in my desk at work, in a bowl on the kitchen counter, in a basket in the pantry, and a few other hidden locations (so my husband can’t find it). I never know when my muse needs a kickstart, so better to be prepared than caught empty-handed!

My favorite chocolate candies tend be of the plainer variety, because I don’t like a lot of interference with my chocolate. However, peanut butter is the one exception to that rule. There’s nothing quite as tasty as creamy peanut butter and smooth milk chocolate. I’m drooling just thinking about it.

Before my drooling gets out of control, here’s my list of Top Ten favorite chocolate candies:

10. Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar

No muss. No fuss. Just plain chocolate at it’s best.

9 . Kit-Kat (full size and bites)

For a lighter dose of chocolate this candy bar is perfect. Plus, it’s fun to break it apart!

8. Cadbury Double Decker

I first experienced this mammoth of a candy bar while in London. The bottom is lined with biscuit pieces which serve as the anchor for a thick layer of chewy, creamy nougat.  Then, a nice layer of chocolate holds it all together. Yummy on (literally) so many levels.

7. Dove Promises Silky Smooth Caramel Milk Chocolate

The name says it all. These little pieces of chocolate covered liquid caramel melt in your mouth. And who doesn’t love the quotes inside the wrappers??  Yesterday, I got one that read: Love fearlessly.  Now, those are words to live by!

6. Hershey Nuggets – Almond and English Toffee

This is one of the rare occurrences where I like nuts mixed into my chocolate. The almond, toffee, and chocolate work together to make the perfect salty/sweet snack.

5. Godiva chocolate truffle

It’s Godiva. Enough said.

4. Cadbury Dairy Milk

Another U.K. delight, Cadbury Dairy Milk has a different texture from U.S. chocolate. Instead of a silky smooth finish, it’s thick and takes longer to melt. The taste, however, is absolutely fantastic. There’s nothing like it!

3. Hershey’s Candy Coated Milk Chocolate Eggs

These tasty eggs only come out at Easter. I inhale them until they pull them off the shelves. They are like giant M&Ms with a perfect chocolate/candy shell ratio.

2. Mint M&Ms (Holiday Version)

When I’m not inhaling chocolate eggs, I’m eating too many mint M&Ms.  The milk chocolate variety of Mint M&Ms only comes out at Christmas, which means I load up on large bags so I snack on them all year long.

1. Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup

Hands down, my favorite candy. I love all varieties of Reese’s Peanut Butter cups, from the teeny tiny to the Big Cup. There’s something special about the flavor of the peanut butter and the perfect amount of chocolate. Best. Candy. Ever.

– – –

What’s your favorite chocolate or candy? (or snack?)

– – –

c.b.w. 2013