Favorite Thing Friday: Soft Baby Blanket

Standard

Somewhere in between making Christmas wreathes, wrapping presents, and making fudge, I found the time to do a little knitting. A friend of mine is having a baby, so I decided to make her a blanket to go along with a sloth stuffed animal I got her for the nursery (long story short, she LOVES sloths).

91sq8E37daL._SL1500_

Every baby should have a sloth.

On Pinterest, I came across a beautiful, yet simple baby blanket, (Cuddly Soft Baby Blankie). What drew me to the pattern wasn’t so much the ease, but the yarn that was used in the sample. It was gorgeous and looked so soft! Luckily, the pin lead me to a link that had both the pattern and a full description of what kind of yarn was used. A quick stop to one of my favorite online yarn stores (yarn.com) and I was all set.

The texture of this blanket makes it a little more interesting than a typical baby blanket. The bumps and ridges add a “squishy” factor to the blanket, while the lace row creates a little eye candy. While the texture creates a nice look, the super-soft quality of the yarn is what makes this blanket special. As per the sample project, I used Ella Rae Cozy Soft Prints in colorway 09 (variegated blues, grays, and purples).

IMG_6206_medium2

Funny story – I forgot to take a picture of the blanket I made, but I found a shot of one on ravlery.com.

The pattern itself is a 15 row repeat that uses four stitches: knit, purl, yarn over, and knit 2 together. It’s perfect for the beginning knitter that has mastered the stockinette stitch and is looking for a new challenge.

I love how this blanket turned out and was quite tempted to keep it for myself (I have two furkids that would love to snuggle up in it!). However, I was very happy to give it as a gift to someone who really loved it.

 

– – –

What’s your favorite thing this week?

– – –

c.b.w. 2015

 

6 thoughts on “Favorite Thing Friday: Soft Baby Blanket

  1. What a beautiful blanket! (And the stuffed sloth is adorable too!)

    My favorite thing this week is definitely reading one of my favorite short stories, O. Henry’s “The Last Leaf,” to my students. 🙂

    Like

  2. Rita Ackerman

    What a cute sloth. I think it is interesting what attracts people and why. Perhaps your friend will share a photo of the baby with the blanket. Sure doesn’t look easy to me.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.