Grandma’s Rainbows

Standard

It’s been a little more than a month since my Grandma passed away. I’ve worked through the grief in a number of ways, but I’m still holding true to the promise I made to her. Whenever I feel sadness coming on, I simply dig into my memories and find one that makes me happy.

While cleaning out my closets and drawers, I came across some old crystals that at one time created one of my Grandma’s favorite things: rainbows. She always hung crystals from her window, so the sun would catch them and throw rainbows all over the floors, walls, and ceiling. Β I remember her teaching me how to hang them with fishing line and how to swing them so the rainbows would race across the room in a crazy cyclone of color.

Grandma's Rainbow Makers Photo by: c.b.w. 2013

Grandma’s Rainbow Makers
Photo by: c.b.w. 2013

The heart crystal was my Grandma’s favorite. I have to agree with her because it creates the largest and brightest rainbows when the sun hits it just right.

When I moved into my own home, I tried to hang crystals from the window, but my cat would not leave them alone. Every day she’d swat at them until they came down, so I had to put them in a drawer to keep them from breaking. I learned to live without the rainbows for the last 8 years, but I decided it was time to bring them back. My cat will learn just how “fun” a squirt bottle can be if she even thinks about swatting!

My Grandma gave me five different crystals long before she died, but I also inherited a couple of new ones. They all now hang from my kitchen window with “invisible string.” Come late afternoon, Grandma’s rainbows scatter throughout my house. I like to think of them as a little “hello” from her each day.

A very bright hello from Grandma! Photo by: c.b.w. 2013

A very bright hello from Grandma!
Photo by: c.b.w. 2013

Note: This particular rainbow came from the heart-shaped crystal. It was at least 8 inches long and 4 inches wide! I did nothing to alter the color or lighting in this picture. The colors really were incredibly vibrant, even in a dark corner.Β It’s easy to see why that particular crystal was Grandma’s favorite!

– – –

c.b.w. 2013

28 thoughts on “Grandma’s Rainbows

  1. This is such a beautiful way to remember your grandma: you’re right, the cat will have to learn to live with it πŸ˜› I’m glad you can brighten up the dark little corners of grief.
    All the best,
    Megan

    Like

  2. What a refreshing post to read with my morning coffee. It’s always nice to remember the loved ones that have passed with gifts that they gave us. I never knew how the crystals could create rainbows like that by hanging them in the window. It’s something to think about next time I’m shopping for a gift for my mom. She loves stuff like that. Thanks for sharing this inspiring post.

    Like

  3. What a wonderful way to keep your grandmother close to you! My mother loved sun-catchers and I inherited a few as memories. The one I like the best is dandelion fluff caught between two circles of glass. My grandson loves to watch it spin in the window – and it’s high enough that my cat can’t reach it! When he is old enough to understand, I will tell him it belonged to his great grandma. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • My grandma loved to press pansies! I’ve found a few them since she passed and they are bringing back some wonderful memories, too.

      I’m sure your grandson will greatly appreciate your mother’s sun catchers one day!

      Like

  4. settleandchase

    Just so lovely..I too am finding my small ways to remember my dear Gran – thinking of her brings such happiness, along with obviously missing her so much – I love the idea of you finding your Grandma in your rainbows..x

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.