Playing Cards With Grandma

Standard

One of my favorite memories of my Grandma has to do with a deck of cards. When I was a little girl around eight years old, she taught me how to play Double Solitaire, Rummy, and the best one of all, Canasta. To this day, I play a mean game of Canasta thanks to a very feisty lady who always played as if a national title was on the line. I loved that about her, (and I inherited some of that competitive edge).

While the game was fun, the time we spent laughing and strategizing from the first hand to the last was precious. The last few years of her life made it impossible to hold cards or remember the rules, so it’s actually been a long time since I thought about our many games together. Revisiting these memories is an absolute joy . . .

  • When I was learning to play Rummy, Grandma refused to let me win. I must have lost 50 games before I finally got her and that’s only because my Grandpa decided to teach me the “finer points of the game.” While frustrating to lose so much, I certainly learned persistence pays off.
  • She used the same tactic to teach me Canasta.
  • Grandma loved to save aces and tens. She always said tens were my Aunt Kathy’s cards, but I think she said that to throw me off the scent. I caught on quick.
Grandma would love to play this hand in a game of Canasta!

Grandma would love to play this hand in a game of Canasta!

  • I loved to save low cards, because I knew she’d always toss them.
  • Grandma couldn’t resist picking up the pile, even if there wasn’t anything good in it. I have no idea why!
  • We would get hand cramps from holding so many cards in a game of Canasta.
  • When I was younger, she always kept score. She counted her fingers to help her add and I remember how she had trouble subtracting when it was necessary to borrow. As I got older, she passed on the scorekeeping to me . . . and I know she kept an eye on my math.
  • Grandma always swore under her breath when it looked like she was going to lose. It was hilarious! She never used any profanity around my sister and I except during a game of cards. She always said, “S**t!” when the score went in my favor towards the end of a game.
  • Canasta was a bit like a blood sport. Both of us loved the strategy. Grandma liked to lay her cards down quickly, but she always kept a pair in her hand so she could snatch the pile and create a “natural.” I had a knack for landing wild cards, which I never revealed until the end. I also loved freezing the pile with them. That strategy usually backfired, though, because Grandma always seemed to have a black three!
  • After years of playing, we looked up the rules and realized we had been playing somewhat incorrectly all along. We’d reversed the colors for a canasta (red) and a natural (black), we assigned the wrong opening point totals, and I think there were a couple of other rules we got wrong, too. Either way, I won’t play any other way because our way is my Grandma’s way.
  • We always nibbled on cookies and candy bars while we played. Grandma was never without a can of Coca-Cola.
  • We played with the same two decks for years, until the cards got so beat up they were practically marked. Once card was missing a corner and while another had a folded corner (it was a two of a spades – a wild card!). There was also a card that was literally peeling apart in three layers.
  • My Grandma is the one who taught me how to shuffle cards two different ways.
  • My sister was never one for Rummy or Canasta, but she did join in on three-handed solitaire. The insanity that ensued from playing each other’s aces was incredibly funny. I have countless memories of us laughing hysterically.

– – –

c.b.w. 2012

23 thoughts on “Playing Cards With Grandma

  1. Great post, C.B. My grandma taught me to crochet … AFTER she watched with growing alarm as I tried and failed to master two needles. When I was sulking and ready to give up on anything hand made she brought out the hooks … bet I could pick one up today and get right back into it!

    Like

  2. What a fun grandma! Hearing you talk about your grandma is taking on new meaning for me as I prepare for that grandma role. If my grandchildren speak of me the way you speak of your grandma, then I’ll be tickling the angels when I go on! I love reading your posts and it brings back memories of my grandma and how lucky we are to have such a person in our lives. How wonderful to have the impact of a grandma and how blessed we are to have had such loving, adventurous ones!

    Like

  3. As I read your description of playing cards with your Grandma, I envisioned my mom, Grandma and her two sisters-in-law playing Canasta. My great-aunt from Ireland was feisty, just like your Grandma and had a mouth on her like a sailor. She hated to lose, too. Thanks for sharing these precious memories with us. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.