A Friend in Limerick

Standard

Here I wait
blue skies
or gray

Loyal friend
patient
and true

Missing you
come home
safe, sound

A friendly dog waits at the open gates of a dairy farm near Limerick, Ireland. Photo by: c.b.w. 2009

A very friendly dog waiting at the open gates of a dairy farm near Limerick, Ireland.
Photo by: c.b.w. 2009

– – –

I apologize for the delay in this week’s Sunday Abroad. This weekend was spent remembering my Grandma and being with family.  I don’t mind giving up a little writing time to be with those I love, especially when I haven’t seen some of them in such a long time. While a sad time for all of us, it was also a time filled with laughter as we enjoyed each other’s company.

The photograph above was a favorite of my Grandma’s.  When we were in Ireland together we got the chance to spend the day at an Irish dairy farm. She loved everything about that place and had so much fun that day. The dog in particular made her smile, so I made sure I got a picture of him for her.

– – –

c.b.w. 2012

15 thoughts on “A Friend in Limerick

  1. From the title of your post, I had a completely different picture in my mind! I was thinking Limerick as in the verse, not the place! You presented a much nicer picture and poem than I came up with! lol

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.