11 Questions . . .Tag! You’re It!

Standard

Guess what? I got tagged!  I’ve seen this game all over wordpress and blogspot, but never had the chance to play until now!  Many thanks to Daisy Carter, a fellow Writers’ Platform Building Campaigner, for sending the challenge of 11 Questions my way.  Her answers to the questions she received are definitely worth a read!  Give her a click!

Photo by Belinda van Steijn, Clipart.com

1) Favorite villain and why. 

Voldermort.  Aside from Maleficent, he’s the only villain that made me shiver with fear.  Both in the books and in the movies, I was afraid for Harry.

2) What’s the last book you read?

The last book I read was History by John H. Arnold.  It was the first non-fiction book I’ve read in quite a while and first history based book in even longer, (besides the books I use for teaching!).  Fact-based reading was a nice change of base, but now I’m hungry for more fiction!

3) If you could travel back in time, where would you go and why?

The Regency Period just so I can see the world the way Jane Austen saw it.

4) Would you rather have an unlimited gift card to your favorite bookstore or a publishing contract but never be allowed to read any other books?

I firmly believe that in order to write, reading is absolutely necessary.  While a publishing deal would be dream come true, I don’t think I could give up reading.  I’d rather keep my books and keep writing for the sheer love of it.  With an unlimited gift card to a bookstore, I’ll be set for life with all the reading and inspiration I’d ever need.

5) If you were an animal what would you be?

A kitten who has just discovered catnip.

6) What’s your very first memory?

I remember hanging red yarn across my grandma’s living room.  My sister and I were pretending to hang laundry on clotheslines, so we strung at least a dozen lines from one end of the room to the other.  I thought my grandpa was going to have a heart attack when he saw what we did.

7) Suzanne Collins, JK Rowling, Stephanie Meyer, Neil Gaiman, Judy Blume and John Green call.  They all want you to come to their house for dinner, but all on the same night.  Whose dinner invitation do you accept?

Stephanie Meyer.  Not only do I love Twilight, but her journey as a writer has always been very inspiring to me, (see The Autograph Ninja).  Besides that, she lives relatively close to me, so it would be super easy to get to her house.

8) You discover a planet.  What do you name it?

I’d call it Vantar 2 for the simple fact that it has a nice Star Trek: The Next Generation ring to it.

9) What world/nation/city/place from a book would you most like to visit?

Henry David Thoreau’s cabin from Walden.  I love the woods and the idea of gleaning wisdom from nature and solitude.

10) Here’s a million dollars.  How would you spend it? (Note: I said spend.)

I’d buy a small flat in a London suburb.  I’ve always wanted to live there and that million dollars could easily make it happen.  Anything left over would go straight to a few animal shelters that desperately need the help.

11) On which reality TV contest or game show would you be a contestant?

Jeopardy.  I don’t think I could win, but it’s the most quiet and calm of the game shows.  Plus, I’d probably learn something in the process.

Thanks for thinking of me and sending such fun questions!

– – –

My questions:

1) What book have you always wanted to read, but still haven’t gotten around to it?

2) What classic book do you feel is overrated? Why?

3) What is your favorite movie adaptation of a book?  Least favorite?

4) Where is your favorite place to write?

5) Pen or pencil?

6) What was your favorite toy as a child?

7) What is the greatest accomplishment of your life?

8) If you could wake up tomorrow having gained any one ability or quality, what would it be?

9) What are five songs you hate to admit you love?

10) Where is your dream destination, (or place you’ve always wanted to go)?

11) What are the top five things on your bucket list?

– – –

Tag!  You’re It!

If you choose to take on the challenge, please post a link leading to your answers to my questions. Have fun and pass it along to 11 more bloggers.

Callie Kingston

Stephanie Allen (My Personal Fairy Tale)

W. Chaser

Diane Gillette (Happy Writing)

Melissa Maygrove

Bridget Straub

Jenny Keller Ford (The Dreamweaver’s Cottage)

Rebekah Loper 

Susan Rocan (mywithershins)

Sara Biren (Crow River Writer)

Christy Farmer

– – –

c.b. 2012