Listening to the Wall: Part 2

Standard

Listening to the Wall is a series dedicated to showcasing pieces of student art that helped create an incarnate of the Lennon Wall  in my classroom.

This piece includes a number of fantastic quotes, but my eye always goes to the shackled hands releasing a butterfly.  To this day I wonder what “butterfly” was hiding deep inside of the girl who drew this image.

A few years ago, I had the pleasure of teaching a student who thrived on art and drawing.  I have watched him grow into an incredibly talented artist and I’m quite honored to have a few pieces of his early work.  For the Lennon Wall he chose to do something simple, but his ability to create atmosphere explodes across the page.

The bold colors of this piece totally reflect the spirit of the student who created it.  Every day, a little ball of sunshine sat in the front row of my classroom.

– – –

For further information about the Listening to the Wall series, please visit these links:

Reconstructing the Lennon Wall

Listening to the Wall: Part 1

– – –

c.b.w. 2012